Skip to main content

Full text of "Appointments at Harvard University"

See other formats


Early Journal Content on JSTOR, Free to Anyone in the World 

This article is one of nearly 500,000 scholarly works digitized and made freely available to everyone in 
the world by JSTOR. 

Known as the Early Journal Content, this set of works include research articles, news, letters, and other 
writings published in more than 200 of the oldest leading academic journals. The works date from the 
mid-seventeenth to the early twentieth centuries. 

We encourage people to read and share the Early Journal Content openly and to tell others that this 
resource exists. People may post this content online or redistribute in any way for non-commercial 

Read more about Early Journal Content at 
journal-content . 

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary source objects. JSTOR helps people 
discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching 
platform, and preserves this content for future generations. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit 
organization that also includes Ithaka S+R and Portico. For more information about JSTOR, please 



[N. S. Vol. XLIX. No. 1271 


The following promotions and appointments 
in the scientific departments are announced : 

George David Birkhoff, professor of mathemat- 
ics. A.B. (Harvard Univ.) 1905, A.M. (ibid.) 
196, Ph.D. (Univ. of Chicago) 1907. Instructor 
in mathematics, 1907-09, University of Wiscon- 
sin; preceptor in mathematics, 1909-11, professor 
of mathematics, 1911-12, Princeton University; as- 
sistant professor of mathematics, 1912-19, Har- 
vard University. 

Cecil Kent Drinker, associate professor of ap- 
plied physiology. S.B. (Haverford Coll.) 1909, 
M.D. (Univ. of Pennsylvania) 1913. Instructor 
in physiology, 1915-16, Johns Hopkins University; 
instructor in physiology, 1916-18, assistant pro- 
fessor of physiology, 1918-19, Harvard University. 

Chester Laurens Dawes, assistant professor of 
electrical engineering. S.B. (Mass. Institute of 
Technology) 1909. Assistant in electrical engineer- 
ing, 1911-12, instructor in electrical engineering, 
1912-19, Harvard University; instructor in elec- 
trical engineering, 1916-19, Massachusetts Insti- 
tute of Technology. 

William Caspar Graustein, assistant professor 
of mathematics. A.B. (Harvard Univ.) 1910, 
A.M. ((bid.) 1911, Ph.D. (Univ. of Bonn) 1913. 
Instructor in mathematics, 1913-14, 1919, Harvard 
University; instructor in mathematics, 1914-16, 
assistant professor of mathematics, 1916-19, Bice 
Institute, Texas. 

Lincoln Ware Saddle, assistant professor of 
eryptogamic botany. A.B. (Harvard Univ.) 1902, 
A.M. (ibid.) 1905, Ph.D. (ibid.) 1906. Austin 
teaching fellow in botany, 1905-06, Harvard Uni- 
versity; instructor in botany, 1906-09, associate 
professor of botany, 1909-18, professor of botany, 
1918-19, Wellesley College. 

Frederick Albert Saunders, assistant professor 
of physics. A.B. (Univ. of Toronto) 1895, Ph.D. 
(Johns Hopkins Univ.) 1899. Instructor in phys- 
ics, 1899-1901, Haverford College; instructor in 
physics, 1901-02, associate professor of physics, 
1902-05, professor of physios, 1905-14, Syracuse 
University; professor of physics, 1914-19, Vassar 

Bancroft Huntington Brown, A.M., instructor in 

Edward Smith Handy, A.B., Austin teaching 
fellow in anthropology. 

Charles Andrew Bupp, Jr., instructor in mathe- 

Arthur Bliss Seymour, S.M., assistant in the 
eryptogamic herbarium. 

Horace Greeley Perry, A.M., Austin teaching 
fellow in botany. 

John Pelt Cole, A.B., instructor in astronomy. 

McKeen Cattell, A.M., Austin teaching fellow in 

Neal Tuttle, A.M., Austin teaching fellow in 


At the meeting of the National Academy of 
Sciences, which took place last week at Wash- 
ington, the following officers were elected : 

Some Secretary: Dr. Charles Greely Abbot, assist- 

, ant secretary of the Smithsonian Institution. 

Treasurer: Frederick L. Bansome, U. S. Geological 

Members of the Council: Colonel John J. Carty, 
American Telephone and Telegraph Company; 
Dr. Henry H. Donaldson, Wistar Institute of 

, Anatomy, University of Pennsylvania, and Pro- 
fessor Baymond Pearl, school of hygiene and 
public health, The Johns Hopkins University. 
Members were elected as follows: 

Professor Joseph Barrell, geologist, Yale Univer- 

Professor Gary Nathan Calkins, zoologist, Colum- 
bia University, 

Professor Herbert D. Curtis, astronomer, Lick Ob- 

, servatory, University of California, 

Gano Dunn, electrical engineer, New York City, 

Professor Lawrence J. Henderson, biologist, Har- 
vard University, 

Professor Beid Hunt, pharmacologist, Harvard 

Professor Treat Baldwin Johnson, chemist, Yale 

Professor W. J. V. Osterhout, botanist, Harvard 

Dr. Frederick A. Seares, astronomer, Mount Wil- 
son Observatory, Mount Wilson, California, 

Professor William A. Setehell, botanist, University 

, of California, 

Major General George O. Squier, electrieal engi- 
neer, chief army signal officer, Washington, D. C, 

Professor Augustus Trowbridge, physicist, Prince- 
ton University, 

Professor Oswald Veblen, mathematician, Prince- 
ton University, 

Professor Ernest J. Wilczynski, mathematician, 

, University of California, 

Professor Edwin Bidwell Wilson, mathematical 
physicist, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.